Tags

I first heard about double swaddling after Grayson was born and it seemed too hardcore for me. I wasn’t very good at regular swaddling so I hadn’t been swaddling Grayson at all. Well when he decided he didn’t want to sleep at night I began trying to swaddle him to see if that would help. He always busted out of it so it didn’t make a difference. I then tried using a Halo sleep sack but he didn’t seem to like it. After a week of Grayson staying up all night I decided to give the double swaddle a try. Wow! What a difference it made! With the double swaddle Grayson would sleep 3-4 hours, wake up for a feeding, then sleep 4-5 more hours. Now that he’s older he’s starting to sleep even longer. He sleeps more soundly and doesn’t stir as much. It’s wonderful! Now that Grayson is going to sleep easier and sleeping longer, I can put him down in his bed between 10 and 12pm on most nights (depending on when he eats), then Kyle and I have some time to spend together before going to bed ourselves. Grayson will usually wake up for an early morning feeding and then will easily go back down for a few more hours. After that next feeding I don’t double swaddle him but allow him to be up for the day if he wants. I usually bring him in bed with me and we’ll cuddle and doze until Kyle wakes up. I’m still not getting a full night of uninterrupted sleep but it’s working for us.

Now, here is how to do the double swaddle!

Supplies needed: two blankets or one blanket and a sleep sack

Step 1: Lay out a blanket in the form of a rectangle. (I use Aden & Anais blankets. They are large, light, soft, and airy; perfect for swaddling, especially during the summer months.)

Step 2: Lay baby on the top center of the blanket with his shoulders just below the top of the blanket.

Step 3: Take one side of the blanket and tuck it over the baby’s arm and under his body.

Step 4: Do the same with the other arm.

So far it should look like this with the rest of the blanket folded and not bunched.

Step 6: Take the folded part of the blanket and bring it up in between your baby’s legs and up to his chest. Form “wings” for the next step.

Step 7: Gently role your baby to one side so you can tuck one “wing” under him.

Step 8: Do the same with the other “wing.”

Step 9: Next, you can either use another blanket to swaddle the baby in the usual way or you can use a sleep sack. I use a Halo Sleep Sack. The benefit of the sleep sack is that it keeps any possible loose blanket away from the baby’s face.

 

That is how you do the double swaddle! I know it may seem like a bit much and you may be afraid of the baby getting too hot. I was concerned too, especially since the weather has been SO hot this summer, which is why I got the Aden & Anais blankets. Though I don’t think Grayson was getting too hot with the receiving blankets I was using, I felt better about how light and breathable the Aden & Anais blankets are. I also only dress Grayson in a thin onesie or just leave him in a diaper.

Some babies may not like being swaddled this way but so many women have sworn by this swaddle and claim that their babies sleep so much better and longer. I have found this to be true and I wanted to pass on the knowledge to those of you with babies who are not good sleepers. So, give the double swaddle a try one night and see what your little one does.

Happy Sleeping!

